Who says only SF State students live in Parkmerced? Although it may be located directly next to the university, a playground occupied by families on a Saturday afternoon can only mean that non-students live in the housing units too.

Located on Arballo Street in front of the Towers, the playground is the one place in Parkmerced designed especially for children.

“The playground might not be much, but it’s bonding time for me and my daughter on weekends,” said Steve Perez, who brings his daughter, McKenzie, to the park every Saturday. “It’s just a quiet little place. She usually plays on the playground while I read the newspaper or something. It’s really relaxing.”

Although the playground is meant to be a family place, people have been caught smoking marijuana in that area late at night.

“I work late and when I take the bus back home I have to walk by the park,” said Justin Gale, a resident of Parkmerced. “Nine times out of 10 there are people smoking weed in the park. It’s ridiculous. It’s not always the same people either. I’ve thought about reporting them but what’s the point? I doubt it will make them stop.”